Datasmith scene very dark

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Datasmith scene very dark

I'm new to Unreal Engine but am attempting to create an arch viz scene via Datasmith and 3ds Max. I have imported my scene into UE4 fine, but once the import was done the light in the scene became very dark, including the space around the project, and the light source intensity doesn't seem to make too much difference. When watching tutorials on lighting it doesn't seem to be an issue for others. Just wondering if anyone has any idea what could be causing this? Or have experienced it themselves? I am using a directional light and have also tested point lights etc. with the same problem. Building the lighting doesn't improve it also.
    Space outside of scene also very dark Scene 'unlit' Scene with lighting. Sky light and sky sphere also in use.

What version of unreal are you using. I'm assuming Unreal 4.22.
    Last edited by pbdarcey; 04-08-2019, 12:34 PM.

Comment

Yeah. 4.22 and the latest datasmith exporter as well. Reckon it's worth trying a previous version?

Comment

Maybe try a new project. Try the mutli viewer one and see if you run into the issue again.

I just tried an export from Revit to 3dsmax to unreal and didn't have any issues with light. That was using 3dsmax to unreal with data smith.

Cheers,

Comment

I noticed that 4.22 is significantly darker than 4.21. Especially in corners and not so well lit places. They are almost black in 4.22. Not sure what's going on there.
          www.s-dot.de/viz
          ArchViz User Interface :: UE4 Marketplace.

Comment

Okay, thanks guys. I'll try what you mentioned and update any differences/improvements.

Comment