Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Learning game animations... When making player movement blend space,Root Motion vs In-place?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Learning game animations... When making player movement blend space,Root Motion vs In-place?

Hi folks. Title kind of says it all. I am still learning about the more complex styles of player character animation. I've got to grips with simpler stuff like making a bird animated flying around etc. And also made some quite complex characters in Unity some years ago. (I used both Root and inplace there but never really got to grips with Root Motion).

Many example animation packs I download/see use root motion.

So if I am to try make a high quality game, something like a FPS like Counter Strike (but also with a Third Person camera mode available), would you advise root motion ?

And if so, would you completely create your own in a Maya style animation-builder, or would u source Mo-cap and perhaps edit that ?

If you don't use Root motion, then do u control the playback speed of the anims via the velocity of the game character, or the input from gamepad , or what?

Thanks for any and all help
    Last edited by GoldenNuggsGames; 02-08-2020, 10:20 AM.

So the basics.

In-place animation is reactive as to state changes passed to the animation BP via way of the movement component so the player model is not being moved based on the applied animation but rather moving along with the collision capsule based on the input from the input table.

Root motion is event driven meaning that the movement controller is applied directly from the input table as a means to activate the movement.