Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Next Gen Game Character WIP

Hi,

This is my first time using UE4. I have placed this post in material/render section as well but once I get some answers I will continue on this thread:

I,m taking a CGMA class with Adam Skutt as the instructor. My goal is to create a realisitc next gen game character and render (and use) in UE4

I am using realisitc character content setup
    - I removed turned off all lights and cameras and made a simple spotlight and new camera
    - Connected the material and nodes used on the realisitc UE4 bust to my character bust

Questions:
    - I have an Xnormal Cavity map currently being used for Specular. I want to combine this with another Cavity map I created in Zbrush. How do I combine properly?

- I am currently using a Bent Normal Map from Xnormal, what is the best practice for combining and masking another normal map to this one (I will be combining with a tileable tangent normal map with microdetailing?

- Importing into UE4 is challenging. How do I import other assets for this bust so they snap in place on the bust? This bust is an FBX. I found bringing obj to the scene will not align with the bust.

Learning in spurts with UE4. I have figured out most of my questions by trail and error, combing the forums and looking up docs. Current progress:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	HighresScreenshot00000.png
Views:	10
Size:	271.6 KB
ID:	1476014Click image for larger version

Name:	HighresScreenshot00000.png
Size:	271.6 KB
ID:	1476015
    Attached Files

Comment

Hair cards are added. Working on how to get the best out of them

Name:	wip25.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	236.7 KB
ID:	1491728

Comment