Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building an RPG with Unreal Book - Anyone Read?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Building an RPG with Unreal Book - Anyone Read?

Just looking to find out of anyone has read this book and whether it's any good?

http://www.amazon.com/Building-RPG-U.../dp/1782175636

Thanks!
    Last edited by FatBalloon; 03-29-2016, 01:21 PM.
    Raids of the Fallen - A Co-op FPS Dungeon Raiding Game

Haven't read the book, but from the looks of it, it is very heavily C++ oriented. I clicked the "Look Inside" link on Amazon, and was able to go through several pages. Very detailed from what I can tell. Looks to be 300+ pages on how to setup exactly what I'm wanting to do. I'm not very good with C++, but might pick it up since it's on the subject I am interested in the most. Maybe it's time for me to learn C++...

If anyone else has read this, could they share their thoughts?

Comment

I just ordered it, so I'll post back when I have a review.
      Raids of the Fallen - A Co-op FPS Dungeon Raiding Game

Comment

Awesome, thanks a ton!

Comment

I bought it, tried to use it and got stumped in Chapter 3, the book uses 4.7.x and I started in 4.10.1, I even backtracked to 4.8.3 and the code base in UnReal changed to the point I couldn't make it work. Biggest problem was no way to contact Author or a good forum stream for answers, maybe I will try and see if anyone here gone through book with current version of Engine and resolved the issues.

Comment

Originally posted by LordRhys View Post
            I bought it, tried to use it and got stumped in Chapter 3, the book uses 4.7.x and I started in 4.10.1, I even backtracked to 4.8.3 and the code base in UnReal changed to the point I couldn't make it work. Biggest problem was no way to contact Author or a good forum stream for answers, maybe I will try and see if anyone here gone through book with current version of Engine and resolved the issues.