CAD Interaction Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CAD Interaction Advice

I am a CAD teacher in high school. Mechanical engineer turned teacher so i know CAD, but slim on game design. I know there is a big push for interaction for applications such as virtual walkthroughs. My guess is that is the whole reason why Unreal studio and datasmith was created. My question is:

Is it wise to have a student model environments/static assets within the game engine itself? Design the product in technical CAD software, but model assets like chairs, couches, and beds within the game engine.

We have maya and max, but an aspiring architect really does not really want to learn 3-4 different software packages to get a walkthrough..

No, the modeling tools in UE4 are not adequate to do more than model blocky objects, and mostly are there just to block out a level before getting replaced with detailed meshes that you've imported in. Also, as far as how UE4 handles that type of geometry it has a bigger performance impact than static meshes that you import.
    Ultimately, if it did have better modeling tools then it wouldn't be any different than learning another 3D software. So if you're unable to make something in your CAD software, then you'd need to use a different 3D modeling software for that.

Comment

Originally posted by asmith601 View Post
      Is it wise to have a student model environments/static assets within the game engine itself? Design the product in technical CAD software, but model assets like chairs, couches, and beds within the game engine.