Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can i call my self a programmer?

Hi,

Well i have been doing unreal for a while now, and this question bothers me quite badly in my mind.
    It quite bothers me if i am a programmer or not because:
    -I use 80% blueprint
    -50% of my code/blueprints are made up from blueprint snippets around the net.(like keypress detecting, mouse position to terrain position conversion)
    -i sometimes have to google the most basic things like: How to detect if i click an actor with the mouse, and how materials work and such.

So what bothers me is, can i call myself a programmer when i do the above things?
    And if i later get a programming job(i'm 19) is it ok if i sometimes have to google things(like how to do something, or a little script)?
    Or is it just like "we're ok with it as long as it works and you don't violate licenses"?

And do you also sometimes just use snippets(less then 10-20 nodes like me) of blueprint because it is easier or you just dont know how else to do it?

thanks

Originally posted by lalala312 View Post
    Hi,

Well i have been doing unreal for a while now, and this question bothers me quite badly in my mind.
    -I use 80% blueprint
    -50% of my code/blueprints are made up from blueprint snippets around the net.(like keypress detecting, mouse position to terrain position conversion)
    -i sometimes have to google the most basic things like: How to detect if i click an actor with the mouse, and how materials work and such.

So what bothers me is, can i call myself a programmer when i do the above things?
    And if i later get a programming job(i'm 19) is it ok if i sometimes have to google things(like how to do something, or a little script)?
    Or is it just like "we're ok with it as long as it works and you don't violate licenses"?

And do you also sometimes just use snippets(less then 10-20 nodes like me) of blueprint because it is easier or you just dont know how else to do it?