[TUTORIAL] Blutility - Running Blueprint functions inside Editor

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [TUTORIAL] Blutility - Running Blueprint functions inside Editor

I'm not very good at writing a lot of text, so I'll get straight to the point

Step 1: Enable the Blutility!
    Open Editor Preferences -> Experimental, then enable Blutility.

Step 2: Create Blutility asset
    Inside the Content Browser, click on New (or right-click in an empty space), then select Miscellaneous -> Blutility.

Now select Custom Classes -> GlobalEditorUtilityBase as a base type.

Step 3: Adding simple functionality
    In order to edit our newly created asset, we need to right-click it and select Edit Blueprint

We are presented with a familiar Blueprint Editor window.
    Every Function that you create will be exposed to Blutility making it callable from the Editor, but from my test only functions with no input parameters are being exposed.

After compiling and saving our graph, it's time to test it! Close the BP Editor window, then double-click on the asset. This should bring the Blutility Details panel.

As you can see it has a button with the name of our function - you guessed it - clicking on the button calls the function!
    Lets see some results!

And that's it!
    Have fun and good luck!

Comment

Thanks for this! I'm curious to see what can be done with it. have you done anything further with it?
      I'd love to be able to iterate over editor content (assets) but that doesn't seem to be working. In my case, I have lots of textures that I'd want to make into material instances based off a single material, but that's not quite working as there aren't any functions available for creating assets, etc. (Atleast that I can find!) And the For Each Selected Asset doesn't seem to work right (unless I'm missing something important :P)
      Last edited by Tom Shannon; 04-11-2014, 05:46 PM.

Comment